Band Of Horses Biography

Band of Horses, previously known as Horses, is an American rock band formed in 2004 in Seattle by Ben Bridwell and Mat Brooke. The band's current lineup features Bridwell, Ryan Monroe, Tyler Ramsey, Bill Reynolds and Creigton Barrett.

Vocalist Bridwell has been likened to Jim James of My Morning Jacket, early Neil Young, and Wayne Coyne of The Flaming Lips.

Everything All The Time

Ben Bridwell (guitar, vocals) and Mat Brooke (guitar) formed the band in 2004 after the break-up of their previous band, Carissa's Wierd. The band initially received attention from Sub Pop after opening for Iron & Wine during Seattle area shows. In 2005, the band released Tour EP, which was sold exclusively at shows and on Sub Pop's website.

Their first full-length album, Everything All the Time, was recorded in 2005 with producer Phil Ek and released by Sub Pop on March 21, 2006. The band's lineup at the time of recording the album was completed by Chris Early on bass and Tim Meinig on drums, although both Meinig and Sera Cahoone receive drumming credits on the album. Bridwell found it difficult to work with Early and Meining, who left the band soon after recording the album. For the subsequent tour Joe Arnone (guitar and keyboards), Rob Hampton (bass and guitar) and Creighton Barrett (drums) were brought in to play with Bridwell and Brooke.

The album's first single, "The Funeral", has been used in numerous television series, films, video games, and advertisements. On July 13, 2006, Band of Horses performed "The Funeral" on the Late Show with David Letterman without Brooke, who had left the band. He subsequently formed Grand Archives, who have since signed to Sub Pop and released two albums.

Before recording their second album, Bridwell decided to relocate the band from Seattle to his native South Carolina.

Cease To Begin

Band of Horses' second album, Cease to Begin, was recorded in North Carolina and again produced by Phil Ek. It was released on Sub Pop Records on October 9, 2007. The album features the core trio of Ben Bridwell, Creighton Barrett and Rob Hampton, with keyboards played by Ryan Monroe. Cease to Begin was voted ninth best album of 2007 by Paste magazine and 47th best by Rolling Stone.

Following the release of Cease to Begin, Ryan Monroe became a permanent member of the band, along with new recruits Tyler Ramsey (guitar and vocals) and Bill Reynolds (bass). This made Band of Horses a six-piece band with Rob Hampton now playing guitar only. In addition to his role in the band, Tyler Ramsey, as a solo artist, was the opening act when the band played live.

In 2008, Band of Horses played at the Glastonbury Festival, T in the Park, the Bridge School Benefit concert, and the Roskilde Festival.

The song "Is There A Ghost" from the band's 2007 album "Cease To Begin" is featured in and episode of the FOX television show 'Fringe'. The episode is titled 'Northwest Passage' and aired on 6th May 2010 in the US. The character Peter Bishop is shown listening to the song in his motel room after it was put on a CD for him by another character earlier in the episode.

Infinite Arms

In May 2009, producer Phil Ek stated that he was recording the third Band of Horses album in North Carolina. Ben Bridwell mentioned that the new album was titled Night Rainbows several times while introducing new songs during the band's summer 2009 tour, but in a March 2, 2010 interview, the band revealed that the album was called Infinite Arms. With the band having parted company from Sub Pop, Infinite Arms will be on the Columbia record label. It will be released on May 18, 2010.

Prior to the recording of the album, Rob Hampton left the band. He was later replaced by Swedish guitarist Ludwig Böss, although Böss does not appear on the album and on March 19, 2010 it was revealed that he too had left. The album was recorded by the current five-piece lineup of Bridwell, Ramsey, Reynolds, Barrett and Monroe.

On April 20, the band appeared on the BBC television series Later... with Jools Holland, promoting Infinite Arms by playing new songs "Compliments", "Factory", and "NW Apt". Following this appearance, the band's two earlier albums entered the UK Top 200 for the first time.

Band of Horses are touring Europe and the U.S. in April, May, and June 2010. They will open for Pearl Jam on their tour of the Midwest and East Coast, beginning May 3 and for Snow Patrol at their concert in Bangor, Northern Ireland on June 5. They will also be playing the Pukkelpop, Rock en Seine, and the Reading and Leeds festivals in August.
This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Closing this message or scrolling the page you will allow us to use it. Learn more