Bastille Biography

Bastille are a band from South London, England, formed in 2010. Bastille started out as a solo project by singer-songwriter Dan Smith, who later decided to form a band. The quartet consists of Dan Smith, Chris 'Woody' Wood, Will Farquarson and Kyle Simmons. The name of the band comes from Bastille Day; the day Dan Smith was born.

EMI Music announced Bastille as one of their new signings to Virgin Records on 1 December 2011.

Music career

Bastille debuted in June 2011 with their 7" single, Flaws/Icarus (released on Young & Lost Club). This was then followed by their Laura Palmer EP later in 2011. After adding a few more tracks online, the band received a lot of attention, helping secure some support slots. During the summer of 2011, they performed at a number of major UK festivals; including Glastonbury, Isle of Wight and Blissfields.

On 27 April 2012 "Overjoyed" was released; the debut Virgin Records single from Bastille. This was confirmed by EMI on 1 May 2012. After the video release of "Overjoyed" on YouTube, Q Magazine introduced the song as its track of the day for 7 March 2012.

'Bad Blood' was released on Virgin Records on 20 August 2012. Following the video release of 'Bad Blood' on youtube, Bastille were named the New Band of the day, by the 'Guardian' news on 25 July 2012.

Bastille performed at the major UK Reading and Leeds Festivals in August 2012. They have announced an October 2012 headline tour, where band Swiss Lips will be supporting them. Bastille have just sold out an autumn show at London's Koko, and in addition will be supporting Emeli Sandé.

Bastille's song "Flaws/Icarus" featured in the soundtrack of the UK Channel 4 television show Made in Chelsea, and "Weight Of Living" was part of the soundtrack for FIFA 13. "Of The Night", Bastille's dual cover of both Snap!'s Rhythm is a Dancer and Corona's The Rhythm of the Night, was used to advertise Dancing on Ice in the run up to its 2013 series.

Bastille played their first show outside of Europe on December 3rd 2012 at Hong Kong's Clockenflap Music & Arts Festival.

Bastille's song "Oblivion" featured in the soundtrack of the television show The Vampire Diaries in the Season 4 Episode 9 titled O Come, All Ye Faithful.

They will be supporting Two Door Cinema Club on their UK tour throughout January/February 2013 and will tour through Europe in April to promote their debut album.
This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Closing this message or scrolling the page you will allow us to use it. Learn more