Nathaniel Rateliff Biography

Nathaniel Rateliff, formerly known as Nathaniel Rateliff and The Wheel, is a five-piece folk rock band from Denver, Colorado. Other members of the group include Joseph Pope III (vocals, guitar, harmonica), Julie Davis (vocals, upright bass), James Han (piano and organ) and Patrick Meese (drums). In 2013, Nathaniel formed a soul/R&B band known as Nathaniel Rateliff and the Night Sweats.

Rateliff grew up in rural Missouri, learning to play the drums at age seven. As a young teenager, he taught himself guitar and began writing his own songs.At eighteen, Rateliff relocated to Denver for missionary work. Nathaniel Rateliff & the Wheel released Desire and Dissolving Men on Public Service Records in 2007. Nathaniel Rateliff then released In Memory of Loss in the US on Rounder Records in May 2010, and then in the UK on Decca in March 2011. In Memory of Loss, crafted with producer Brian Deck (Iron & Wine)captured the attention of, which listed his album as the number-one album you might have missed in 2010. The New York Times pushed his show in New York City to Mojo, which gave his record a four-star review. On September 17, 2013 Nathaniel Rateliff secretly released his second album "Falling Faster Than You Can Run" on mod y vi records. On the same day he set out on a tour with The Lumineers and Dr. Dog, in support of the album. On June 24, 2015, the self-titled release of Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats via Stax Records was announced with the lead single being "S.O.B.".
This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Closing this message or scrolling the page you will allow us to use it. Learn more