Neck Deep Biography

Neck Deep is a Welsh rock band from Wrexham, formed in 2012. The band consists of Ben Barlow (vocals), Lloyd Roberts (guitar), Matt West (guitar), Fil Thorpe-Evans (bass) and Dani Washington (drums).

Neck Deep formed in 2012 as a bedroom project of Lloyd Roberts and Ben Barlow. After releasing two tracks, that would eventually form part of Rain In July, the online response inspired them to pursue Neck Deep further and release their first EP a few months later, titled Rain in July. Barlow and Roberts recruited friends and musicians from the local music scene, one of them being Matt West, who was in the Wrexham hardcore band Spires with Roberts at the time. Fil Thorpe-Evans would later join the band as bassist after leaving Lincoln based post-hardcore band Climates. In 2013, they released their second EP A History of Bad Decisions.

Seizing the opportunity to play a weekend of shows in Florida, Neck Deep's first international shows grabbed the attention of major US labels. In August 2013, the band signed an international record deal with Hopeless Records.

The band released their debut album, Wishful Thinking, on 14 January 2014. Following the release of Wishful Thinking, Neck Deep began 2014 with a full UK headline tour and also toured the UK as the main support for We Are the In Crowd, before a headline tour covering the US with Knuckle Puck and Light Years. In support of their tour they released a split 7" featuring "Crushing Grief" and "Growing Pains" from Wishful Thinking, with new exclusive tracks from Knuckle Puck. Neck Deep were announced to perform on 2014 edition of Vans Warped Tour.The band re-released Rain in July and A History of Bad Decisions as a compilation album through Hopeless Records in July 2014. The band won the Kerrang! Award for Best British Newcomer 2014, beating nominees Blitz Kids, Bury Tomorrow, Lonely the Brave, and Decade. The band will headline the Intercontinental Championships Tour, along with Knuckle Puck (USA), Seaway (Canada) and Trophy Eyes (Australia), and touring the UK. The tour is set to start January 2015 and run through February. The band opened for Blink-182 at London's Brixton Academy on August 8. As of late 2014, they have entered the studio with producers Andrew Wade and Jeremy McKinnon to record their second album.

The band will be playing all dates of the 2015 edition of Vans Warped Tour.

On 27 April, the band made a post on their Facebook page consisting of nothing more than "Can't Kick Up the Roots. 12.05.15". This post turned out to be the name of their first single and the release date of 12 May. A few days later on 4 May the band made another Facebook post stating the name of their new album, Life's Not Out to Get You, the release date of 14 August. On 10 May, "Can't Kick Up the Roots" was premiered on UK radio station BBC Radio 1 and was met with lots of praise by fans, with the band then stating that the song's music video and pre-orders for the album would be available on 12 May.
This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Closing this message or scrolling the page you will allow us to use it. Learn more