Planet Funk Biography

Planet Funk is an Italian electronic dance musical ensemble. The group is composed of Marco Baroni, Domenico "GG" Canu, Sergio Della Monica, Alex Neri and Alex Uhlmann, in addition to a series of guest singers in collaboration like Dan Black, Sally Doherty, Raiz, John Graham and Giuliano Sangiorgi. Alex Uhlmann joined as the band's latest lead singer in November 2010.

Their first single, "Chase the Sun", reached number five on the UK Singles Chart in 2001. The melody is borrowed from Ennio Morricone's tune "Alla Luce Del Giorno", off the score of the 1969 film Metti, una sera a cena. The song has enjoyed a rise in popularity ever since Sky Sports began using it during its coverage of the Professional Darts Corporation's major tournaments. The crowds in the venues are encouraged to chant and sing along to the song during the commercial breaks of matches, and the song has a cult following amongst darts fans. The song is also known to be chanted by supporters at the games of Australian football clubs Newcastle Jets and Adelaide United, as well as being the second half opening theme for the English Football League Championship team, Sheffield Wednesday. English Championship Football team Reading FC also use the song for a goal song after they score a goal. Conference side Gateshead FC play this song at the end of a game, which results in a "Heed Heed Heed" chant along to the beat. English Super League team Wigan Warriors are known to use the song following a successful drop-kick. The Melbourne spring racing carnival used the song during promotional TV advertisements during the mid to late 2000s. AFC Bournemouth also use the chant for the infamous striker Brett Pitman.

Also used by Team 5 of Beta Distribution for over £500 profit orders, Boom Town!

Their second single, "Inside All the People", reached no. 9 in the Italian singles charts, but did better on the European dance charts. Their third single was "Who Said (Stuck In The UK)" which also gained significant commercial success. Their 2007 single release, "Static", appeared on FIFA 08.

They are also remixers, with their highest-profile work to date being New Order's "Waiting for the Sirens' Call".

In May 2006 they became the first musical group to release a single exclusively as a mobile phone download, with the release of "Stop Me" on the mobile network 3.

In 2009 they released the single, "Lemonade", which is featured on their album Planet Funk. During the autumn 2010 the single “Weightless” is due for release in Europe and the US. The song is a cooperation between Planet funk and the Swedish artist Emilia de Poret.

Their album The Great Shake, featuring the new lead singer Alex Uhlmann, was released in September 2011; in the same month they opened the F1 Rocks concert in Monza, during the F1 2011 Italian Grand Prix. The first single, "Another Sunrise" was released in Italy in May 2011.
This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Closing this message or scrolling the page you will allow us to use it. Learn more