Samantha Crain Biography

Samantha Crain (born August 15, 1986) is an American songwriter, musician, and singer from Shawnee, Oklahoma, signed with Ramseur Records.

Early life and education

Crain was born and raised in Shawnee, Oklahoma and is of Choctaw heritage. She attended Grove School in Shawnee, OK and Dale High School in Dale, Oklahoma. She took classes at Oklahoma Baptist University in Shawnee. The start of her career in music came after a 5-month residency at the Brentwood, Tennessee-based Contemporary Music Center.[when?]

The Confiscation EP: A Musical Novella

Crain's first recording was the self-released EP The Confiscation. It was produced by Joey Lemon of the Chicago-based Berry and later reissued by Ramseur Records in 2007. It is based on five short stories by Crain.

Songs in the Night

Crain's first LP with the Midnight Shivers was the April 28, 2009 release Songs in the Night. The album was produced by Danny Kadar and recorded at Echo Mountain Studios in Asheville, North Carolina. Songs in the Night features Crain on acoustic guitar and vocals, Jacob Edwards on drums, trombone, and harmonica, Andrew Tanz on bass guitar, keys, and vocals, and Stephen Sebastian on electric guitar. Arizona's Benjamin Wigler provide vocal harmonies on the track "Get the Fever Out".

Songs in the Night was met with critical praise. Paste magazine gave the record a rating of 78 out of 100 and featured it many times online and in the magazine. Rolling Stone magazine reviewed it with 3.5 stars out of 5, saying "Her voice is gorgeously odd — all fulsome, shape-shifting vowels that do indeed billow like fog."

You (Understood)

After the Midnight Shivers disbanded, Crain released her second LP on June 8, 2010. The album was recorded in 7 days in Joey Lemon's studio in Wichita, Kansas. It features Crain on electric guitar, acoustic guitar, vocals, and keys, Joey Lemon on bass, percussion, and vocals, Arizona's Ben Wigler on vocals and electric guitar, Eric Nauni on drums and percussion, and Sherree Chamberlain on vocals on "We Are the Same". Frontier Ruckus's Matthew Milia and David Jones are featured on the song "Santa Fe" with Milia on vocals and Jones on banjo. The album release was followed by an NPR Weekend Edition feature. This album was released in UK and Benelux on November 8, 2011

A Simple Jungle

Crain released the 7" vinyl single, A Simple Jungle on January 10, 2012. Its two tracks ("It's Simple" and "Cadwell Jungle") were produced by John Vanderslice in San Francisco and feature Anne Lillis on percussion.

Kid Face

Produced by John Vanderslice in San Francisco, Crain's third album Kid Face was released on February 19, 2013. John Calvin Abney, Kyle Reid, Brine Webb, Daniel Foulks, Anne Lillis, and Anna Ash contributed to the album.


Crain has lent her voice to recordings for Murder By Death, Ali Harter, Matt Hopper, Penny Hill, and others.

She has played as part of the Ramseur Records band and the Midnight Shivers.
This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Closing this message or scrolling the page you will allow us to use it. Learn more