Summer Set (The) Biography

After a few years of playing music together, Jess Bowen and brothers John and Stephen Gomez, set out in the fall of 2007 to form The Summer Set with newfound vocalist Brian Dales. Jess, John, and Stephen played in a previous band called Last Call For Camden with Kennedy Brock (The Maine) and guitarist Weston Michl. LCFC had released one CD entitled "Keep Your Feet On the Ground" before breaking up. The Summer Set self-released their first EP, "Love The Love You Have," in November 2007.
The band signed a record deal with The Militia Group in April 2008.The band then set out to record their debut EP entitled ...In Color was released on iTunes June 24 and was reviewed on several music websites.They recorded a pop punk version of Usher's hit song "Love in This Club". They released the song for download on their Buzznet page. The band released their third EP Meet Me on the Left Coast in December 2008, with two new tracks. It also featured "Love in This Club" as an iTunes bonus track.
The band's debut album and first full-length record, Love Like This, was released October 13, 2009. The band appeared on the Punk Goes Classic Rock CD released by Fearless Records, covering "I Wanna Rock and Roll All Nite" by Kiss. They re-released their debut album Love Like This, titled Love Like Swift, on July 6, 2010, featuring five new Taylor Swift cover songs. The band played the entire Warped Tour 2010 on the Glamour Kills Stage. They, also, played on the Dirty Work Tour along with All Time Low, Yellowcard, and Hey Monday.
On the April 5, 2011 episode of Dancing with the Stars, actress Chelsea Kane and partner Mark Ballas danced a Cha-Cha-Cha set to The Summer Set's "Chelsea". In a behind-the-scenes package shown prior to the dance, Kane revealed that the song was written for her by Brian Dales, whom she had been in a relationship with at the time.

Everything's Fine

Everything's Fine is The Summer Set's second full length album, released on July 19, 2011 through Razor & Tie.
For the record, the group spent some time songwriting with Paul Doucette of Matchbox 20 and Mike Daly of Whiskeytown in Nashville, and recording with veteran producer John Fields, whose work stretches from the likes of Har Mar Superstar to Paul Westerberg to Andrew W.K. “He pushed us hard, and he brought so much in us,” says the singer. “We had some early demos that sounded like our last record, but when we were done, everything sounded so new and different.”
Everything’s Fine presents a more nuanced story of The Summer Set. Even the sad face on the album’s cover is a hint that there are several new sides to the group. “The title is a bit sarcastic,” admits Gomez. “Our first record was just one emotion. Everything’s Fine is yin and yang. We’ve had some ups and downs recently, some breakups, some general trials and tribulations. This is a record that says we’re young, but growing up and experiencing new things. So in a way, it’s optimistic, too."
On May 6, the band launched a crowd-sourced lyric video for "Someone Like You". The video featured live video taken by fans of the band during the Dirty Work Tour with All Time Low.
On June 6, The Summer Set launched a poll through their MySpace page, asking fans to pick the next song they would reveal from the album. Songs included "Thick As Thieves", "Back To Start" and "When We Were Young", The song with the most votes will be revealed after one week of voting.
This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Closing this message or scrolling the page you will allow us to use it. Learn more