SuperHeavy Biography

SuperHeavy is a rock supergroup consisting of Mick Jagger, Joss Stone, Dave Stewart, Damian Marley, and A. R. Rahman. Stone and Stewart had collaborated in the past with Jagger. The band's formation was announced on 20 May 2011. Jagger said of the band, "We wanted a convergence of different musical styles... We were always overlapping styles, but they were nevertheless separate". Jagger wanted SuperHeavy to showcase different musical styles, with music ranging from reggae to ballads to Indian genre.

Early years

Formation of rock supergroup "SuperHeavy" was secret until May 2011. On 20 May 2011, English musician and the lead vocalist of rock band The Rolling Stones Mick Jagger announced the formation of new supergroup named, "Super Heavy", which also includes Dave Stewart, Joss Stone, Damian Marley, and A. R. Rahman. Super Heavy was Dave Stewart's idea. Inspired by the sounds washing into his home in St Ann's Bay, Jamaica, Stewart urged Mick Jagger to make a fusion, along with Indian orchestras. Stewart and Mick had mutual liking for Indian orchestrations and in a lookout for different voices, A. R. Rahman was added to the supergroup.

In early 2009, Mick Jagger, A. R. Rahman, Dave Stewart, Joss Stone and Damian Marley experimented at a Jim Henson Studios in Los Angeles, trying to "write songs which had meaning", during which they recorded 29 songs in 10 days.

Debut album (2009-2011)

The group began the works of their self-titled debut album in early 2009 when Jagger, Stewart, Stone, Marley and Rahman experimented at a studio in Los Angeles, trying to "write songs which had meaning". They recorded about 35 hours of music with some songs originally lasting "an hour and 10 minutes" before they were whittled down. The album was previewed at Jim Henson Studios, Los Angeles, on 30 June 2011. The band played eight of the recorded songs at the event. Their debut single, "Miracle Worker", released on 6 July received mostly positive reviews. Mick Jagger sings in sanskrit on "Satyameva Jayate" (Truth alone triumphs), the second single released on 9 August, 2011. Composed by Rahman, the song also features Dave Stewart, Joss Stone and Damian Marley.
This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Closing this message or scrolling the page you will allow us to use it. Learn more