The Ethnographers Biography

The Ethnographers is an indie/pop/rock band based out of Greenville, North Carolina, and consists of Megan Kennedy and Danielle Eiler on vocals, Luke Rayson on guitar, Ian Collins on guitar and vocals, Samantha Hollen on keyboard and backup vocals, Justin Nelms on bass, and Matt Shapiro on drums and percussion.
The Ethnographers began their voyage in the summer of 2008 as a group of friends looking to experiment with each others' varying musical upbringings. Over the following year, they experienced several member additions and line-up changes, and added numerous local shows under their belt. By fall 2009, the band had found their most promising roster yet and since then has created a truly distinctive sound and loyal fan base. With their playful, yet convincing live shows, the band has demonstrated that they have the fortitude to turn what they've mastered on their record into an especially commanding experience onstage. Each of the seven members has their own distinguished style and poise; however, the medley finds the means to harmoniously gravitate together as friends and as artists. The name "The Ethnographers" was chosen as a reference to all of the band members' different musical influences and their universal desire to create an eclectic, yet inclusive, artifact that induces even the hardest of rockers to tap their feet and sing along with heartfelt conviction.
This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Closing this message or scrolling the page you will allow us to use it. Learn more