Breaking Benjamin Biography

Breaking Benjamin is an American rock band founded in 1998 by Benjamin Burnley in Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania. Burnley is the sole constant of the band, withstanding multiple line-up changes, and is the primary song-writer and lead vocalist. Most recently he is accompanied by Aaron Bruch (bass), Shaun Foist (drums), Keith Wallen (guitars), and Jasen Rauch (guitars). The band has released four studio albums, Saturate (2002), We Are Not Alone (2004), Phobia (2006), and Dear Agony (2009), selling over 5 million units in the United States alone.[a] The band will release its fifth studio album following a four-year hiatus, titled Dark Before Dawn on June 23, 2015.

Breaking Benjamin has produced two albums that are RIAA-certified platinum (We Are Not Alone and Phobia) and three certified gold (We Are Not Alone, Phobia, and Dear Agony). The 2006 single "Until the End" went platinum in February 2014 as well. Since signing with Hollywood Records in 2002, Breaking Benjamin has garnered mainstream success, with its debut album Saturate peaking at #2 in the Billboard Heatseekers Albums. The following three albums all appeared in the Billboard Top 200, with We Are Not Alone peaking at #20, Phobia at #2 and Dear Agony at #4, all in the year they were released. Dear Agony and Shallow Bay also reached #1 in the Top Hard Rock Albums, the former in 2009, and the latter in 2011, 2012, and 2013. The 2009 single "I Will Not Bow" reached #1 in Top Rock Songs as well.

On August 19, 2014, the band announced that they had reformed via their official Facebook page. The band re-emerged as a quintet, consisting of Burnley as the lead vocalist and four new members. New members include guitarist Jasen Rauch, previously of the band Christian Metal band Red, who had previously collaborated with the band off of four tracks on Dear Agony, guitarist Keith Wallen, previously of Adelitas Way, bassist Aaron Bruch (of OurAfter and Forever Oeuvre), who played a couple of acoustics shows with Burnley in 2010 and 2013, and drummer Shaun Foist, previously of the band Picture Me Broken.

On September 13, 2014, the band members uploaded new photos of the band working in the studio. On September 19 and 20, 2014, the band played the first two shows with the new lineup at Gators Pub & Eatery in Luzerne, PA. Both shows were sold-out. On September 30, 2014, the band announced a serie of acoustic performances called "Unplugged Tour 2014" during the month of October. On October 11, drummer Foist revealed in an interview that the band is currently writing new songs for their next album.

In February 2015, the band played a 4-dates winter tour. In April–May Breaking Benjamin are going to play a Nationwide tour and to take part in a number of festivals, such as Rock on the Range, Welcome to Rockville, Carolina Rebellion, Rocklahoma and Pointfest sharing the stage with international acts such as Linkin Park, Seether, Chevelle, Papa Roach and others.

On March 23, 2015, Breaking Benjamin released the single "Failure".

The new album with the title Dark Before Dawn will be released on June 23, 2015.
This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Closing this message or scrolling the page you will allow us to use it. Learn more