Cute Is What We Aim For Biography

Cute Is What We Aim For is a power pop band from Buffalo, New York. The band formed in 2005, and since have released two albums: The Same Old Blood Rush with a New Touch and Rotation. The band was signed with record label Fueled By Ramen but was then dropped.

Early years and signing with Fueled by Ramen (2005–2006)

Cute is What We Aim For is a band formed out of high school friendships of Buffalo youngsters. After touring small venues and diffusing their demo, the band was signed to the label: Fueled by Ramen. Since their formation, drama seemed to ride on their backs and as a result led to line up changes. In an effort to compensate for the absence of temporary bassist Nathaniel Hughes (Original front man of FacePlant 2012) at a concert, Cimato permanently swapped his electric guitar for a bass guitar. Nathaniel went on to originate a B-Rate Hardcore Crew known as BYOCF which was a wrecking force in the Northern Kentucky/Cincinnati area. . Further fueling the drama surrounding the band was when they announced that they were firing their manager, Brandon Davis, who accused them of unethical business practices. Although it was already suspected by fans due to several indications on the band's part, on November 29, 2005 they officially announced their signing with Fueled by Ramen.

The Same Old Blood Rush with a New Touch (2006–2007)

On June 20, 2006, Cute Is What We Aim For's debut album, The Same Old Blood Rush with a New Touch hit store shelves, debuting at number 75 on the Billboard 200.

During the fall of 2006, Cimato parted ways with the band, and Jack Marin (formerly of October Fall) became the new bassist. However, six months later, in April 2007, Jack left because of personal issues with the band members. Cimato returned as bassist once again. In October 2007, Fred Cimato was interviewed by When asked if he viewed his role in the band as permanent, he replied; "Definitely permanent. I had 7 months at home to finish up high school and after that I was like, 'Wow, I miss playing music.' I was blessed enough to get that opportunity again." However, Cimato left the band again on March 2008. It was announced that Dave Melillo would be their bassist until further notice.

Rotation and break-up (2008–2009)

After their time with the Young Wild Things Tour, the band took some time off to continue writing for their second release. They went into the recording studio with producer John Feldmann. The name of Cute Is What We Aim For's new album was announced on their website, and also on their forum "The Social Scene", on April 21, 2008. This coincided with a clip of their new single, Practice Makes Perfect, being aired on MTV's The Hills. At midnight on April 22, the band released another new song called Doctor, on their MySpace. On May 6, Practice Makes Perfect became available on the iTunes Store. The album called Rotation, was finished on March 19, 2008, and was released on June 24, 2008.

The band then announced plans to play a four month tour in support of Rotation in both the United Kingdom and the United States. They played in the UK from May 25 until June 2, before heading back home to the United States to start the second part of their tour on June 15 in Pittsburgh, PA; ending their tour on August 17 in Columbus, OH. The men that supported the US part of the tour was Ace Enders, Danger Radio, Dan Geraghty and label-mates Powerspace. On August 26, 2008, the band was part of the opening show for Simple Plan at the Bell Center (along with Faber Drive and Metro Station). The former Dave Melillo Band guitarist, Clark Spurlock, was featured on that tour, as well as on the Canadian tour with Simple Plan.

On September 2, 2008, there was speculation over drummer, Tom Falcone. He announced that he would be leaving the band. Falcone released an official statement on, stating that: "I simply left the band because the personality conflicts and daily drama made it impossible for me to live a peaceful, happy life," also adding that: "I assure you that no one came looking for me." Hacikyan nor any of the other members have commented on the situation. Former Roses Are Red drummer Michael Lasaponara (who is also the drum tech for the band The Academy Is...) filled in as the drummer.

The band headlined the 2009 Take Action Tour, which after they stopped working with Kevin Spellman at Creative Artist Management.

A clip of a new demo called "Catch 22" appeared online on June 9, 2009. The band's single "Time" was included in the soundtrack for the movie Jennifer's Body.

On August 18, 2009, lead singer Shaant Hacikyan announced via his Twitter account he was going solo. On the same day, bassist Dave Melillo confirmed that he and guitarist Jeff Czum had left the band. Jeff, Dave, and Mike went on to create a new band, Nocturnal Me.

New line-up/Hacikyan's solo band (2010–present)

In early 2010, it was announced that the band will continue with frontman Shaant Hacikyan as the only original member to continue, taking the band's name as a vehicle to his solo career.

On April 29, 2010, Shaant released a new song called "Harbor" which was made available to download for free through Twitter.
This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Closing this message or scrolling the page you will allow us to use it. Learn more