Greta Van Fleet Biography

Greta Van Fleet is an American rock band formed in 2012. The band members are Josh Kiszka, Jake Kiszka, Sam Kiszka, and Danny Wagner. In April 2017, the band released their debut studio EP, Black Smoke Rising. The debut single, "Highway Tune", topped the Billboard US Mainstream Rock and Active Rock Rock stations in September 2017.

The band was formed in 2012 by brothers Joshua "Josh" Kiszka, Samuel "Sam" Kiszka, Jacob "Jake" Kiszka and Kyle Hauck. Hauck subsequently left the band, in Oct. 2013 and was replaced by Daniel "Danny" Wagner the same year. The band name was created when one of its members heard a relative mention Gretna Van Fleet, a resident of Frankenmuth, Michigan; the name is used with her blessing. In the time Hauck was the drummer, the band recorded and released three songs "Highway Tune" "Cloud Train" and "Standing On". February 28, 2014 a live EP was recorded all in one take and subsequently released on June 7, 2014 at a release party. In 2014 their song "Standing On" was featured in 2014 Chevy Equinox advertisements in the Detroit area. It's one of several songs, along with "By the Riverside", "Cloud Train", "Lover, Leaver, Taker, Believer", "Down to the River", "Sing in the Rain", "Thunder Stomp", "You're the One" and "Written in Gold" that were previously released and are currently unavailable.

On January 17, 2016 the song "Highway Tune" was featured on the Showtime show Shameless. On March 31, 2017 the first single "Highway Tune" was released on iTunes. On April 2, 2017 they started streaming the song "Highway Tune". On April 18, 2017 the music video for the song "Highway Tune" was released exclusively on Loudwire. Their debut EP titled Black Smoke Rising was released April 21, 2017. On April 21, 2017 they were named Apple Music's new artist of the week. Black Smoke Rising is planned to be the first of three EP's that will make an album when all released. They started touring in May 2017 to promote the EP with The Struts.

In October 2017, the band won Best New Artist at the Loudwire Music Awards. On the same day it was announced that an eight-song double EP titled "From the Fires" would be released on November 10, 2017. It will feature four new recordings as well as the four tracks from the band's break-out EP "Black Smoke Rising". The four new tracks were recorded in September 2017 at Rust Belt Studios in Detroit and produced by the same duo that produced "Black Smoke Rising", Al Sutton and Marlon Young.
This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Closing this message or scrolling the page you will allow us to use it. Learn more